top of page

Hello Fall!

Fall is definately upon us and we should know because our yard is covered in leaves. We just moved into our house in April and were warned about how many leaves we would get but we had no clue! The Autumn colors are beautiful but as the leaves start to change and fall to the ground we all know what is around the corner....winter! And with winter comes all the festivities (and stress haha!).

Speaking of festivities, I wanted to make a very festive sled. I was combing the internet and got inspired by a graphic I saw. It was bold but I thought "what the heck".

I am starting to get limited on sleds and this one wasn't in the greatest of shape. The side was duct taped together and under that there was a metal piece screwed in to hold the wood together. Also there was a metal piece screwed into the top to prevent the top from coming apart in future riding. I was able to get the top out just fine but the side was a different story. I had my work cut out for me and cut the tape apart and got the metal piece unscrewed. I never want my sleds to have any dangers of cutting my customers hand including the wire I use to tie everything together (I always use a tape at the end so nothing is sticking out). I was able to attach the pieces of wood back together.

After cleaning it all up I started to paint it all green. Looks more like a Halloween sled than a winter sled, does it?

After drawing it all out and painting it up, I must say I'm pretty impressed! Now as you can see from the above picture after I attached the pieces of wood back together it still didn't look perfect and you can still notice it used to be broken. Well I picked up some green ribbon and thought I'd experiement with that and I gotta say even if that piece wasn't broken I would still use the ribbon because it really ties it together! I still have a little more work to do and also attach the ribbon and pine decor at the top but it's really coming along! I even have someone that might be interested in buying it when it's done!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page